Blackberries Ahoy!

26 Aug

Here ye, here ye, blackberries are exploding alongside Cedar Falls Drive.  I was in the backseat of a sweet hybrid this past weekend, enjoying a refreshing Northwoods drive to Willow Flowage when I espied something juicy and delicious right outside the window, within reach of my fingertips.  “Stop this electric horse!” I shouted and leapt from the moving car, somersaulting to a sit-still on the grassy embankment.  (Okay, not really, but I DID request, and was granted, a stop.)  To my utter delight, I found myself knee-deep in perfectly ripened blackberries.  I grabbed a handful, presented the treasures to my company and vowed to return to this succulent mecca.

So I did, this morning, via bicycle… which is only a tad challenging since Cedar Falls Drive is a little sinky sandy gravelly and not hard gravelly like the Bearskin Trail.  Nonetheless… take a left on Cedar Falls Drive from Camp Nine Road and travel for at least a 1/2 mile and start looking on the right hand side.  It seems the farther in you go, the better the berries.  I did see a vehicle stop and park on what I assume is a snowmobile trail on the left hand side and its occupants scatter.  I would not be surprised to learn that they, too, were after that decadent fruitiness.

I thrust my hand into the blackberry patch and about 10 seconds later, came out with this:

Blackberries in hand are worth...  (Blackberries on Cedar Falls Drive)

Blackberries in hand are worth... (Blackberries on Cedar Falls Drive)

I admired the interplay between the blackberry bushes and the other flora and fauna:

Blackberries and Flowers

Blackberries and Flowers

Then I heard something large and skittish, like a bear, in the thicket behind the bushes and decided it was a good time to hightail it out of there.  But not before I captured more evidence that there are choice berries yet to be ripened and yet to be picked (or eaten by my pal black bear), waiting for YOU on Cedar Falls Drive.

Unripe Blackberries

Unripe Blackberries

One Response to “Blackberries Ahoy!”

  1. awalkabout August 26, 2008 at 9:06 pm #

    Mmm. Thinking warm cobbler with cream already…. :) thanks!

Leave a Reply

