On the Suet

19 Feb

I heard some abnormal squawking at my bird feeders overlooking Blue Lake so I grabbed my camera and snapped shots of my discoveries within a 24-hour period:

The nuthatches and the woodpeckers have been regulars at the suet and now, huge, plump blue jays have taken up roosting in the pine trees. I originally thought that the squawking might have been from the new blue jays but I discovered, with the spread of an enormous wingspan, that a gigantic pileated woodpecker (about a foot to a foot and a half tall) has been hanging around the area as well. He doesn’t appear to have an interest in the seeds or suet but seems to enjoy just lolling about. The pileated woodpecker has proven camera shy as of yet but I am hoping that will change in the upcoming days.

Leave a Reply

