Secret Haven of the Birds of Prey

24 Feb

Enjoying the crisp blue skies and warm afternoon sun, I motored down Lower Kaubashine Road yesterday at approximately 3:30 p.m. when a red-tailed hawk flew alongside my car and onto a dead tree right before the Camp Nine Road intersection.  I slowed down to get a better look at just where he was headed when what appeared to be a thick, squawking cloud descended and ruffled the boughs of the neighboring pines.  I looked closely into the woods and was shocked to find the area loaded with at least five bald eagles, four hawks and an uncountable number of crows.  I didn’t have my camera handy so I sped home, grabbed the thing, and returned, hoping that this strange mix of birds was still in place.  Well, a few of the eagles immediately departed on a reconaissance mission when I stopped the car alongside the road but I did manage to capture a few images of the amazing sight:

Eagle and Hawk on Lower Kaubashine Road

Eagle and Hawk on Lower Kaubashine Road

Bald Eagle on Perch

Bald Eagle on Perch

Dr. Expert thinks that there might be something dead in the woods that is providing a delicious buffet for these huge birds of prey. I think that it could be something more Hitchcockian.

Leave a Reply

