The Eagles Are Back!

8 Mar
Big Eagle Aerie on Blue Lake

Big Eagle Aerie on Blue Lake

I am being stalked by two hyperactive and very loud red squirrels.  The two mite-y hellions wait for me by the porch and then follow me up the driveway, jumping from tree to tree, bounding in the melting snow and taking every advantage of opening their mouths and screeching, “A-A-A-A-R-R-R-R-E-E-E-E-R-R-R-R” when I stop to look at them.

They don’t flounce all the way up the driveway, though, and I soon learn why.  In the lofty boughs of a white pine on the back of the property sits a huge eagle’s aerie.  It has been relatively quiet all winter but today as I pass under its branches, I hear strange guttural calls and rustling from above.  I stop in my tracks and clear my throat with a definitive, is anyone home, “Ahem.”

Lo and behold, two bald eagles take flight from the aerie, circling low above the west basin woods, presumably looking for threats.  As they increase their reconnoitering perimeter, a pathetic cry (or two?) like, “A-A-A-H-H-H-R-R-R-R” warbles from the nest.  Indeed at least one baby eaglet appears to be up there.  One eagle immediately returns to baby.  The other one remains away.  Maybe it’s foraging?

Updates to follow.

Two Bald Eagles in Flight over Blue Lake Woods

Two Bald Eagles in Flight over Blue Lake Woods

Leave a Reply

