Skunk Works: The Denouement

22 Jul

In Act III, the combative skunk charges a fair maiden carrying a bundle of goods to a storage / art shack.  The country-folk, sufficiently riled, arm themselves with mothballs, and vow to drive the skunk from its home under the shack.  The odorous perpetrator is located, but in a shocking turn of events, is found deceased in its very bed!

A brave mother, the fair maiden, and a Nicaraguan with questionable olfactory proclivities grab a shovel and dig the dead skunk – likely a dead, rabid skunk – from under the shack for a proper burial.  The skunk, seemingly more monstrous in its expired state, measures at least two and a half feet long and oozes a heavily concentrated pungent stench which immediately is carried by a strong southern breeze into at least five homes in the vicinity.   The country-folk remain relieved yet queasy.  The end.

10 Responses to “Skunk Works: The Denouement”

  1. Winkster July 23, 2009 at 6:43 am #

    I smelled it but I wasn’t allowed to roll in it; what a great opportunity gone to waste because of my overly sensetive owners.

  2. karyn July 23, 2009 at 7:25 am #

    Good Morning,
    My father wants me to tell you that he is watching the mother eagle and her 2 babies eat a big fish on the shore by the Aldridge Property. It is 7:24 a.m. The babies are squaking like pigs he states…I don’t have your e-mail, but if you are up…please check it out! He says it is truly incredible to watch!!!!

  3. The Provost July 24, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

    Oh shoot! I can’t believe we missed it! That would’ve been something to watch! My mom saw the baby eagle catch a fish last year and then freak out because (s)he didn’t know what to do with it but then quieted down when the adult eagle arrived. We saw the two eagles sitting on a branch next to the aerie over our property, watching the lake yesterday. There are at least 4 eagles in that nest — 2 adults, at least 1 baby and the juvenile from last year who still hangs around. Pretty cool!

  4. karyn July 25, 2009 at 9:21 am #

    It is really cool! We all love your blog! My father is still trying to figure out who you are and wants to meet you! He is doing the antique boat show this weekend for MS. Word has it, you are a female! This whole time I thought you were a male! Is your idenity a secret, or will you let us know who you are?!!

  5. The Provost July 25, 2009 at 10:50 pm #

    Maybe Blue Lake Free Press should arrange a “meet the blogger” event :) I will confirm that the rumor is true, I am not male and if I ever meet you folks, which I’m sure is inevitable as we are neighbors, I will most certainly introduce myself. There are a number of sleuths around the lake – and around town, in fact – who have figured out who exactly I am and you are definitely on the right track! I really wanted to go to the boat show this weekend but I was working right down the street, darn it. Hopefully there was a nice turn out in spite of the rain!

  6. Karyn July 27, 2009 at 12:12 pm #

    That would be great!!! We so appreciate all that you do! It is so nice to hear the “goings on” on the lake when we cannot be there. My father wants to know if you bought your property from Ralph Hiller…? You can e-mail me if you would like… The boat show was a huge success! :)

    • The Provost July 28, 2009 at 11:25 am #

      Hi Karyn, I am having an impromptu Meet the Blogger event this Thursday from 4:00 to 5:00 p.m. I’ll write a post about it. I’ll be more organized in my next event ’cause I know it’s really last minute. Let your father know that indeed my folks did buy their property from the Hillers.

  7. karyn DeBoer July 28, 2009 at 11:53 am #

    Aww darn! My father left yesterday, and is back home. I wish we could go…my father is having friends stay up at our place for a week, so if you go by, it’s not him! I wish I could have met you! ;( Ralph Hiller had the funniest laugh we have ever heard! We had to go to a different room when we heard him laugh! lol! I am guessing your folks are the Meyers!

    • The Provost July 28, 2009 at 12:23 pm #

      Well shoot, next time then and I’ll sharpen my organizational skills :) And yup, you got it, I’m a Myers!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. July Recap « Blue Lake Free Press - August 4, 2012

    […] stench led to the discovery of a dead raccoon hidden away in  the far corner of their garage.  Having prior experience with a dead skunk, I cannot adequately laud the benefits of having on hand a good pair of work gloves and a sturdy […]

Leave a Reply

