All Signs Point to Frozen!

9 Dec

I’m calling it (even though it’ll most likely mean more fake-outs are on the way)… on December 8th, 2012 Blue Lake officially froze for the season! I think the converging signs on the ice are clear… we’ve got lasting ice cover!

Converging cracks on the ice point to a well-frozen Blue Lake

Converging cracks on the ice point to a well-frozen Blue Lake

I am always surprised by the designs in the ice which seem to vary so much from season to season, and how every day holds such a different portrait of the lake.

Wildlife

I saw an otter swimming between open water and ice flows two days ago, seemingly as warm and happy as an otter can be.  I would have liked to have seen ’em shimmy across the ice sheet and hunker down in his landed burrow but he seemed on a mission… to catch a fish perhaps?

Speaking of fish, ’tis the season to watch for bald eagles on the side of roadways. As lakes freeze over blocking access to gilled delights, eagles search for carrion, most often occurring in the form of roadkill. So eagles will flock to the meat, super-focused on filling their gullets that they do dangerous things like fly into the path of oncoming cars and wobble into the road after a hearty gorging. Be sure to watch for creatures, in addition to snow and ice, when you navigate those winter roads!

7 Responses to “All Signs Point to Frozen!”

  1. jimhadfield December 19, 2012 at 6:36 am #

    When you post a picture like this one, can you let us know where the pic was taken from? I’m thinking that this was taken in either of two places. From the island looking towards what used to be Pinewood Resort or looking east and going left would take one to the bridge (culvert now).

    • The Provost December 21, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

      Hi Jim… the picture was taken on the southwest banks of the lake (on the site formerly known as Hidden Valley Resort) looking northwest. Following the northern banks of the lake to the east you would reach Camp Agawak. Following the southern banks of the lake to the east you would reach the culvert.

      • jimhadfield December 29, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

        Hidden Valley… Was that Brostowitz (sp?) that owned that many years ago? If I am right, there is a creak just to the left of their place (as you are facing the lake). We could get suckers during the spring run in this creek. oooh boy, does this bring back memories.

      • The Provost December 31, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

        I had to ask a generation up, but yup, that’s it. When I was younger, I used to go stomping around in the creek (the outlet) with my grandma. Good times!

      • jimhadfield December 31, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

        “Had to ask a generation up”.. I like that. Makes me feel REAL old now.. You need to get a history lesson or two from your Mom. There is a lot of history to this lake from years gone by. Things that you would be too young to know of.

        Do you know what the island was originally used for? (before there were homes on it). It was a skunk farm.

        FYI, Ramsey’s purchased Pinewood Resort from my parents. Don’t remember the year.

      • The Provost January 1, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

        Blue Lake indeed has a rich history, and Cynthia Holmberg’s book Blue Lake Lore is a great resource. I did know about the Blue Lake island skunk farm; it was spotlighted in one of the first Blue Lake quiz polls appearing in this blog.

      • Jim Hadfield January 2, 2013 at 10:23 am #

        I wasn’t aware of a book being published. Thanks for the info. I will have to find it and get it. Then add my comments.

        There are so many little things that I remember. They just keep popping into my mind from time to time as I am reading your blog and thinking of the days when I lived what you are writing. Keep up the good work. I love it.

        Maybe, someday, we will be able to get back home (Blue Lake) and stay (for summers only….)
        Jim

Leave a Reply

